With picturesque Fiordland and Stewart Island Rakiura national parks in our backyard, Southland District Council encompasses 11 percent of New Zealand’s total land area – the largest of any territorial authority.

Council is not only responsible for the management and improvement of physical assets such as roads, bridges, water supply, cemeteries and parks but also the Southland communities' social, economic, cultural and environmental wellbeing.

30,000 residents

19,000 ratepayers

13,000 dogs

4,961km of roads

2,450 street lights

207km footpaths

22 cemeteries

67 public toilets

159 parks and reserves

4 forests

69 housing units in 10 townships

19 Wastewater schemes


Our 200+ staff are diverse in their backgrounds, skillset and location, spread across three Invercargill offices (Forth Street, 20 and 42 Don Street) and seven area offices situated at Riverton, Otautau, Te Anau, Winton, Oban, Lumsden and Wyndham.